State and national agencies working together to prevent suicide

Suicide prevention is a key goal of both the Commonwealth Government and the State Government of Victoria.

To ensure the Victorian community gains the greatest benefit from this dual focus, the Department of Health and Human Services and Victoria’s federally-funded Primary Health Networks are working together to deliver place-based suicide prevention trials.

These trials are being implemented across 12 Victorian locations: Mornington Peninsula/Frankston, Dandenong, Latrobe Valley, Bass Coast, Brimbank/Melton, Macedon Ranges, Whittlesea, Maroondah, Mildura, Benalla and Ballarat and the Great South Coast.

Guided by a common agenda, operating model, communications, evaluation and other relevant frameworks, these trials will harness local skills, expertise and resources to implement tailored, evidence-based interventions in local communities.

A recent workshop brought together representatives from across the state to begin developing the statewide model. Participants at the workshop included: representatives from state government and the Municipal Association of Victoria, Victorian Primary Health Networks, the Victorian Aboriginal Controlled Community Health Organisation (VACCHO), beyondblue, headspace, the Black Dog Institute, Mindframe, Lifeline and Victorian Police, alongside consumer and carer groups, clinicians and academics.

As it evolves, this joint initiative will provide insights into how collective place-based approaches to suicide prevention can maximise health investment and drive real outcomes for the community.

Tell us how your organisation is working collectively using place-based approaches to suicide prevention?
Submit your story!

   Back to blog          

Sign up to our eNewsletter.